Peppers, Miller among 32 Man of Year finalists

Peppers, Miller among 32 Man of Year finalists

NEW YORK — Veterans Julius Peppers, Von Miller and Vernon Davis are among the 32 nominees announced Thursday for the NFL’s Walter Payton Man of the Year award.

Unlike in the past, when three finalists were selected before a recipient was chosen, one player from every NFL team is a finalist. All will be recognized and participate in NFL functions during Super Bowl week. The Man of the Year will be revealed at NFL Honors, when The Associated Press’ individual NFL awards are announced, on Saturday night, Feb. 2 in Atlanta.

The Man of the Year is honored for outstanding community service activities off the field, as well as excellence on the field. It was established in 1970 and renamed in 1999 for the Hall of Fame running back.

“The Man of the Year Award gives us the opportunity to acknowledge 32 exemplary players whose commitment to excellence extends on and off the field,” NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell said. “This year’s nominees have used their platforms to transform communities across the country. We are proud of their work and celebrate their dedication and impact through this award.”

A total of $500,000 will be donated in the name of the 2018 recipient, with $250,000 going to Character Playbook, the NFL and United Way’s digital character education program. An additional donation of $250,000 will be made to the charity of his choice.

The other 31 finalists will receive a donation of $50,000 in their name to expand Character Playbook, and an additional donation of up to $50,000 to their charity of choice. All donations are courtesy of the NFL Foundation, United Way Worldwide, and Nationwide, the presenter of the Walter Payton Award.

The five current players who have won the award — Drew Brees, Thomas Davis, Larry Fitzgerald, Eli Manning and J.J. Watt — wear a Man of the Year patch on their jerseys. All 2018 finalists will wear a Man of the Year helmet decal beginning this week through the end of the season.

The finalists:

Arizona CardinalsAntoine Bethea

Atlanta FalconsGrady Jarrett

Baltimore RavensBrandon Carr

Buffalo BillsLorenzo Alexander

Carolina Panthers– Julius Peppers

Chicago BearsTrey Burton

Cincinnati BengalsCarlos Dunlap

Cleveland BrownsChristian Kirksey

Dallas CowboysDak Prescott

Denver Broncos — Von Miller

Detroit LionsMatthew Stafford

Green Bay PackersKenny Clark

Houston TexansWhitney Mercilus

Indianapolis ColtsJabaal Sheard

Jacksonville JaguarsBlake Bortles

Kansas City ChiefsDustin Colquitt

Los Angeles ChargersCorey Liuget

Los Angeles RamsAndrew Whitworth

Miami DolphinsKenny Stills

Minnesota VikingsKyle Rudolph

New England PatriotsDevin McCourty

New Orleans Saints — Mark Ingram

New York GiantsMichael Thomas

New York JetsKelvin Beachum

Oakland RaidersMarshawn Lynch

Philadelphia EaglesChris Long

Pittsburgh SteelersCameron Heyward

San Francisco 49ersRobbie Gould

Seattle SeahawksK.J. Wright

Tampa Bay BuccaneersGerald McCoy

Tennessee TitansJurrell Casey

Washington Redskins — Vernon Davis

NFL News

via – NFL

December 6, 2018 at 06:12AM


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s